



M-240 March 23, 2010

Volume 37 Number 4

Meeting of College Council

There were present:

Prof. Barnhart	Prof. Gale	Prof. Lavin	Ms. Rodriguez
Dean Basile	Prof. Garcia Osuna	Ms. Lewis	Ms. Saladuchin
Prof. Beeber	Prof. Gerwin	Prof. Martin	Prof. Sarinsky
Prof. Burger	Prof. Graziano	Prof. Mogensen	Prof. Scherek
Prof. Cally	Prof. Graziano-King	Prof. Murphy	Prof. Sokolow
Ms. Campbell	Prof. Guigno	Prof. Nicosia	Prof. Staum
Ms. Chapman	Mr. Hermida	Prof. Olubummo	V.P. Suss
Ms. Cohen	Prof. Hesse	Prof. O'Malley	Mr. Troudt
Mr. Dennie	Ms. Hudson	Ms. Palmieri	Ms. Valentin
Prof. Farley	Prof. Hume	Prof. Pierre	Prof. Yarmish
Prof. Farrell	Prof. Klapper	Prof. Pollack	Prof. Zeitlin
Dean Fox	Prof. Kraljic Curran		

President Peruggi called the meeting to order at 3:10 p.m.

I. The minutes of the meeting of the Council held on December 1, 2009 was approved unanimously.

II. Reports

A. President's Report

President Peruggi announced that the budget crisesat both the City and State levels will mean that we will have to cut \$1.2 million from our budget. We will not be initiating any new capital projects. We will also be stopping major purchases. Most of our funds have already been encumbered. This does not bode well for the coming academic year. The proposed cut of \$285 to FTE aid which would have brought us back to 2005 levels was rescinded and remains at \$2,545 per student. The state, in a worse predicament than the city, may not reach an agreement on the budget at all.

B. Committee on Instruction

1. The following resolution, presented by Prof. Sarinsky of the Committee on Instruction, regarding the adoption of a peer observation form for on-line instruction, was approved unanimously:

Whereas, Faculty teaching online courses should have the same opportunity to be peer observed as those teaching courses in the classroom:

Be It Resolved, The Committee on Instruction proposes the appended Peer Review of Online Teaching. (see Attachment A)

C. Legislative Committee

The Legislative Committee presented the results of the University Faculty Senate Nominations and Elections held in November and December 2009. (see Attachment B).

Professors Enid Stubin and Robert Cowan were elected to serve as Alternate delegates from June 2010 through May 2011. Prof. Frances Ruoff was elected to serve as Adjunct delegate from June 2010 through May 2013.

Prof. Sokolow announced that the school is in the process of finalizing the contract for the online elections to be held through VoteNet.com. Nominations will also be held online. An elections guide for the Spring 2010 elections will be provided shortly on the College Council website. Please vote in the test

election running Tuesday through Thursday, March 23-25, 2010. Prof. Sokolow reminded the council members that all delegates, both current and those successful in the May elections need to be present at the May 25, 2010 council meeting. He also distributed election documents. (see Attachment C).

D. Committee on Strategic Planning & Budget
Dean Fox reported that there will be an up coming Strategic Planning Dinner on May 3, 2010. Please check your mail details.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Barbara Ladman

Barbara Ladman, Secretary, College Council