utility image
KCC Logo
Skip Navigation Links
Skip Navigation Links
About
Admissions
Academics
Continuing ED
Alumni
Community
Donate
Utility image
Skip Navigation LinksKCC Home > Other Programs > Current Students > Office of Military and Veteran Affairs

The Office of Military and Veteran Affairs (OMVA) serve the needs of prospective and enrolled active military personnel, veterans, their dependents and survivors. OMVA aides in application and certification for students who are eligible to receive education benefits under various Department of Veteran Affairs (DVA) programs. In this role, the OMVA team facilitates smooth transition and reintegration onto the college community.

We provide supplement recruitment and retention efforts, various counseling and advisement services, academic program information, and certify eligible students to receive DVA education benefits while maintaining productive relations with the Veterans Administration and other agencies serving veterans.

The OMVA Team works closely with many campus departments, and have created a point of contact bridge. Please see our list of support offices and the POC appointed for any inquiries:

Admissions Services (The Village)
Mary Smith
, Assistant Director

Office: V-100
Email: 
Mary.Smith@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-6755

Bursar's Office
Zoya Furmanov
, College Account Assistant

Office: A-205
Email: 
Zoya.Furmanov@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-5416

Office of Student Affairs
Brian Mitra
, Associate Dean

Office: A-216
Phone: 718-368-5563

Registrar (Office of Student Records)
Davida Cooper
, Associate Registrar

Office: A-101
Email: 
Davida.Cooper@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-5421

Financial Aid Office
Robert Gevertzman
, Associate Director/Perkins Loan Coordinator

Office: U-201
Email: 
Robert.Gevertzman@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-4644

Office of Freshman Services
Herschella Steele, Freshman Services Advisor
Office: F-123
Email: Herschella.Steele@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-4806

Center for Career Development and Experiential Learning
Natasha Lauriston
, Internship Coordinator
Office: C-102
Email: Natasha.Lauriston@kbcc.cuny.edu

Phone: 718-368-5115

Transfer Success Center
Melissa Merced, Associate Director
Office: M-101
Email: Melissa.Merced@kbcc.cuny.edu

Phone: 718-368-4911

Counseling and Health Services
Ilona Fridson
, Psychological Counselor & Outreach Coordinator

Office: D-102
Email: 
Ilona.Fridson@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-5975

Access-Ability Services
Gail Glass-Malley
, Intake Coordinator/Counselor

Office: D-205
Email: 
Gail.GlassMalley@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-5175

The Women's Center
Frances Robinson
, Program Manager

Office: M-382
Email: 
Frances.Robinson@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-4700

BMI/Men's Resource Center
Michael Rodriguez
, Program Manager

Office: U-218
Email: 
Michael.Rodriguez@kbcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-368-5864

 

Office of Military and Veteran Affairs
Student Success Center, M101
Tel: 718-368-5472
Fax: 718-368-4923
Email:
vaso@kbcc.cuny.edu

Hours of Operation

When Classes Are in Session

Monday 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Tuesday 12:30 PM- 8:30 PM
Wednesday 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Thursday 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Friday 9:00 AM- 5:00 PM

When Classes Are Not in Session

Monday-Friday 9:00 AM- 5:00 PM

Veterans Lounge
Location: T7-220
Operating Hours (When Classes Are in Session)

Monday: Closed
Tuesday: 9am-1:30pm
Wednesday: 9am-4:30pm
Thursday: 9am-4:30pm
Friday: 9am-1:30pm

Alexandra McDonald, M.S.Ed. MHC
Veteran Program Specialist/Certifying Official

Michael Gutstein, SGM USAR (RET)
College Assistant

 
 
kccFacebook KCCTwitter
Privacy Statement | GAINFUL EMPLOYMENT | Disclaimer | LIAISONS | Text Only | Make This Website Talk | IT Accessibility

Kingsborough Community College
2001 Oriental Boulevard, Brooklyn, NY 11235-2398 | (718)-368-5000
Kingsborough is CUNY