Skip to main content Skip to footer content

College Council

The College Council

The College Council is the governance body of Kingsborough Community College, comprised of elected representatives from full-time and part-time Instructional Faculty and Staff, Students, Support Staff, Administrators, and Alumni.  The College Council shall be responsible, subject to guidelines, if any, as established by the Board of Trustees of The City University of New York for the formulation of policy relating to the admission and retention of students including health and scholarship standards therefore, student attendance including leaves of absence, curricula, and the award of college credit. The Faculty, however, shall reserve the right to confer degrees. The Council shall make its own bylaws, consistent with the policies and regulations of the Board of Trustees, and conduct the educational affairs customarily cared for by a college faculty. The Council may also make recommendations on policy with respect to the facilities, budgetary matters and faculty personnel matters of the College within the framework of the Bylaws of the Board of Trustees.

For Meeting Agendas and Minutes, Committee documents, the Council Constitution and other useful links, click the + sign that says "In This Section."

Schedule of Upcoming Meetings

  • Tuesday, February 27, 2024 (M146/147) at 3:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, March 26, 2024 (U-219) at 3:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, April 16, 2024 (U-219) at 3:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, May 28, 2024 (U-219) at 3:00 p.m.

College Council Members, 2023-2024


Interim President, Dr. Suri Duitch

Interim V.P. of Finance and Administration Andres Escobar

V.P. of Academic Affairs Joanne Russell

Registrar Avery Mullen

College Council Steering Committee

  • Suri Duitch, College Council Chair
  • Secretary, Amanda Kalin
  • Scott Cally, Chair of Curriculum Committee
  • Daniel Kane, Chair of Strategic Planning and Budget Committee
  • John Acosta, Instructional Committee
  • Maria Patestas, Legislative Committee
  • Jeffrey Delgado, Students Committee
Full-Time Faculty/Staff Members
Dept Chair Term Ends Dept Chair Term Ends
AHM Tyronne Johnson 2026 HIS Jacob Segal 2026
ART Thomas Eaton 2024 HPER Don Hume 2024
BEH Stuart Parker 2026 LIBRARY Carlos Arguelles 2025
BIO Kristin Polizzotto 2025 MATH Rina Yarmish 2024
BUS Jeffrey Lax 2025 NURSING Catherine Olubummo 2025
COM Scott Cally 2025 PHY John Mikalopas 2024
ENG Ann Del Principe 2026 TAH Anthony Borgese 2024
FOR Alfonso Garcia-Osuna 2025      


Dept CC Representative Term Ends Dept CC Representative Term Ends
AHM George Kapetanakis 2026 HIS Martin Matthew 2026
ART Valerie Sokolova 2024 HPER Juan Franquiz 2024
BEH Jeremy Sawyer 2026 LIBRARY Jeffrey Delgado 2025
BIO Anna Rozenboym 2025 MATH Shoshana Friedman 2024
BUS Dawn Levy 2025 NURSING Mary Shannon 2025
COM Tom Rothacker 2025 PHY Jacob Mey 2024
ENG Matthew Gartner 2026 TAH Daniel Kane 2024
FOR Joachim Oppenheim 2025      


Delegates At Large Term Ends Delegates At Large Term Ends
Prof. John Acosta 2026 Prof. Paul Ricciardi 2025
Dean Gordon Alley-Young 2025 Michael Rodriguez 2026
Rick Armstrong 2026 Ms. Gila Rohr 2024
Ms. Amanda Kalin 2025 Emily Schnee 2026
Prof. Ryan McKinney 2024 Prof. Michael Spear 2025
Ms. Helen Nasser 2024 Prof. Dorina Tila 2024
Ms. Maria Patestas 2024 Prof. Dominic Wetzel 2025
Prof. Rick Repetti 2026    


Part-Time Faculty Term Ends
Prof. Vincent Cuccia 2024
Ashiza Shah 2025


Support Staff Term Ends

Thomas DeGrezia



HEO Delegate-At-Large Term Ends

Cynthia Olvina



alumni delegate Term Ends

Judy Cohen



Student Members Term Ends Student Members Term Ends
Filza Ali 2024 Lady Cuahutencos-Cortes 2024
Laila Asif 2024 Netanel Nemet 2024
Ayesha Azad 2024 Jaiden Pinnock 2024
Riquelme Bennett 2024 Valeriya Shumyatskaya 2024
Mahir Bhuiyan 2024 Sidra Zafar 2024
Adaiah Brunson 2024